Cayman National

Cayman Islands

About the Cayman Islands

The three Cayman Islands, Grand Cayman, Cayman Brac and Little Cayman, were discovered by Christopher Columbus in 1503 and are located in the Western Caribbean between Jamaica and Cuba and are approximately 480 miles south of Miami. Grand Cayman is the largest of the three Islands and boasts the fifth largest financial centre in the World.

The Cayman Islands is a British Dependent Territory and provides a sophisticated Offshore Financial Centre with strong political stability, no direct taxation and a well regulated industry supervised through the Cayman Islands Monetary Authority. The legal system is based on English common law, and Commonwealth precedents are generally followed, although there has been some leading edge Trust legislation with the STAR Trust legislation enacted in the last decade along with well established Reserve Powers Trust legislation.